NDI In the News

For Immediate Release
January 9, 2012

Greg Glynn, Account Executive
Nancy Marshall Communications
207-495-2782, gglynn@marshallpr.com


Finalists Announced for Frank Gaziano
High School Football Scholarship and Awards

SOUTH PORTLAND, Maine - Today Jeff Kane, president of National Distributors and Frank Gaziano's son-in-law, announced the finalists for the Frank Gaziano High School Scholarship and Awards. The list of eight finalists consists of four offensive linemen and four defensive linemen from high schools across the state. All finalists will be invited to appear before the awards committee for a personal interview. The award and scholarship presentations to the Gaziano Award winners will be announced at a banquet brunch on Sunday, January 29, at 11:30 a.m. at the Augusta Civic Center.   

Gaziano Defensive Lineman Award"We are excited about the finalists this year because each of them has special attributes that make them worthy of the Gaziano Award. The committee will have a very tough job  selecting this year's winners, but that is a testament to the players, their coaches, and their parents. We are looking forward to meeting the finalists and announcing the winners at the banquet," said Kane.

The scholarship and awards program for Maine high school football linemen was created last year in memory of Frank J. Gaziano, founder of National Distributors, and a former college All-American and professional football player with a life-long passion for local sports.

The Annual Frank J. Gaziano Memorial Offensive and Defensive Lineman Awards are presented to players who epitomize the character, leadership, and perseverance of Gaziano. Recipients will be selected by the awards committee based on their strong leadership on the field, in the classroom, and in the community.

Frank J. Gaziano Memorial Award Finalists:  

Defensive Linemen
Matthew Ross, Cape Elizabeth 
Christian Deschenes, Cheverus
Luke Libby, Thornton Academy
Max Andrews, John Bapst   
Offensive Linemen
Rudy Pandora, Lewiston
Matthew McLean, Windham 
Nate Porter, Portland     
Logan Mars, Scarborough  

Each finalist will receive free tickets to attend the banquet. At the event, one offensive lineman and one defensive lineman will each be awarded a first place trophy and a scholarship of $2,500.    

To qualify for consideration, each applicant must be a high school senior, have competed at the varsity level for a minimum of two years, and have an exemplary record of positive athletic and non-athletic citizenship. The submission of a student essay and a game film featuring the applicant competing against his toughest competitor are also part of the application process. Applicants from all levels of Maine's high school football three-class system are eligible for the scholarship and are nominated by their coaches. For more information on the banquet or the scholarship program visit www.gazianolinemanawards.org or contact the Frank J. Gaziano Lineman Awards Board of Directors at (207) 773-1719, ext 3313.  
Funding for the $2,500 scholarships is being provided by National Distributors Inc. in South Portland, the company founded by the late Frank J. Gaziano. The awards committee will also be securing sponsorships ranging from $50-$500 so players and families of the student athletes can attend the banquet free of charge. If you are interested in attending the event or contributing to the scholarship fund, call (207) 773-1719, ext 3313.      

Skip Capone and Raibonne Charles will be guest speakers at the banquet. Capone is in his 16th season as a coach for the Bobcats, serving as the team's defensive line coach and special teams coordinator. Prior to his time at Bates, Coach Capone was the head coach at Lewiston High School where he led the Blue Devils to two Maine State Class A championships. Charles is a former Windham High football player and defensive lineman with the University of Maine Black Bears.
The selection committee for the Frank J. Gaziano Lineman Awards includes Charles Hews, Mark Bonnevie, Mike Haley, Tim Rice, Ed McAleney, and Mike Marston. The awards officers are Peter DeSimon, Matt Perkins, Jeff Kane, and Michael Quinlan. The Board of Directors includes Pete Cloutier, Jill Gaziano Mitchell, Judy Gaziano Kane and Mike Haley.


Editor's Note: Click on the image above or the link below in order to access a downloadable version.


About National Distributors:

Established in 1960, National Distributors Inc., is a family-owned company that has been providing quality beverages to retailers for the benefit of consumers more than 50 years. Though predominantly servicing retailers in Southern Maine, the company continues to provide a variety of products and expand their distribution to Central & Coastal Maine. National Distributors maintains a strong vision for a greener future with an active environmental program. The company and its more than 170 employees also continue to be proud community leaders and promote the responsible consumption of their products.