NDI In the News

For Immediate Release
December 30, 2013

Greg Glynn, Account Executive
Nancy Marshall Communications
207-623-4177, gglynn@marshallpr.com


Semi-finalists Announced for Gaziano Lineman Awards

SOUTH PORTLAND, Maine - The selection committee for the 2013 Frank J. Gaziano Memorial Offensive and Defensive Lineman Awards today announced 15 semi-finalists for what is the largest high school scholarship of its kind in the country. 

Jeff Kane, president of National Distributors, Inc. and Frank Gaziano's son-in-law, said the semi-finalists were chosen from 25 nominees and consist of eight senior offensive linemen and seven senior defensive linemen representing a wide range of high schools across the state.

"Once again we had a strong group of nominees from throughout the state," said Kane. "It's exciting to the growth we have seen for this award over the past few years and the incredible number of deserving student athletes that apply and display excellent attributes on and off the field. The selection committee will have a tough job in front of them."

Frank J. Gaziano Memorial Award Semi-Finalists:  

Defensive Linemen
Caelan Houle, Cape Elizabeth
Dylan Rasch, Greely
Colin Richards, Mt. Blue 
Russell Wilson, Nokomis 
Luke Washburn, Oak Hill
Jacob Fogel, Portland
Michael Pino, Scarborough    
Offensive Linemen
Brendan Moore, Bangor
Isaiah Reynolds, Bonny Eagle
Joshua Thibeault, Brunswick
Greg Grinnell, Cheverus
Matt Powell, Leavitt
Jedidiah Thomas Scott, Sanford
Ethan Liberty, Skowhegan
Ethan Petty, Windham  

The scholarship and awards program for Maine high school football linemen was created in 2010 in memory of Frank J. Gaziano, founder of National Distributors in South Portland, and a former college All-American and professional football player with a lifelong passion for local sports. One offensive and one defensive lineman each receive $5,000 and a first place trophy, and four runners-up receive $1,000. The award winners will be announced at a luncheon ceremony on Saturday, January 25 at the Augusta Civic Center.

The annual Frank J. Gaziano Memorial Offensive and Defensive Lineman Awards are presented to players who epitomize the character, leadership, and perseverance of Gaziano. The selection committee chooses award winners based on their strong leadership on the field, in the classroom, and in the community.

In 2012, National Distributors Inc. increased the scholarship amount to $5,000 for the two winners and $1,000 for the two runners-up making it the largest high school football scholarship of its kind in the country. Funding for the $14,000 in total scholarships is provided by National Distributors Inc. The selection committee will also be securing sponsorships ranging from $50-$500 so players and families of the student-athletes can attend the awards luncheon ceremony free of charge. If you are interested in attending the event or contributing to the scholarship fund, contact event coordinator Charlie Gagnon at 363-9141 or email gazianoawards@gmail.com.

The selection committee for the 2013 Frank J. Gaziano Lineman Awards is chaired by Matt Perkins and also includes Mark Bonnevie, Pete Cloutier, Peter DeSimon, Jeffrey Guerette, Mike Haley, Charles Hews, Mike Marston, Ed McAleney, Dan O'Connell, Tim Rice, Bob Sinclair and Steve Stinson.

For more information on the awards luncheon or the scholarship program visit www.gazianolinemanawards.org.


Editor's Note: Click on the image above or the link below in order to access a downloadable version.


About National Distributors:

Established in 1960, National Distributors Inc., is a family-owned company that has been providing quality beverages to retailers for the benefit of consumers more than 50 years. Though predominantly servicing retailers in Southern Maine, the company continues to provide a variety of products and expand their distribution to Central & Coastal Maine. National Distributors maintains a strong vision for a greener future with an active environmental program. The company and its more than 170 employees also continue to be proud community leaders and promote the responsible consumption of their products..